our story

Hello!  I still blog.  In fact, to take myself more seriously I asked Ryan to update my blog header today.  The last few times I logged in to write I noticed the three little barefoot kids lined up over the back of the leather couch (If you don’t remember it, you won’t miss it). But I will.  Days are changing – my new header picture reminds me of just that.  It also reminds me of the early days when Ryan and I were dating and both working in downtown Minneapolis.  There were many many walks together to work or back to school again.  I’m then a mess of gratitude for the three sets of feet that are walking with us now hand and hand.  To say God has blessed us feels like an understatement.

Speaking of times changing, I had another birthday.  Not a big deal or anything, but I notice in adulthood birthdays always challenge me to ask where I am and where I am going.  Maybe because I thought that when I was in my thirties I’d feel like I had things more figured out?  Last year I felt challenged time and time again with not being comfortable.  Because I had this plan of how things could go, and they weren’t going that way.  My plan wasn’t the plan.  I’m reading You and Me Forever with a small group from church.  This book is messing me up.  In good ways.  You should get a copy and tell me what you think!  The book isn’t so much about marriage, but more about eternity and our relationship with God: “Life is about Jesus.  We are not here to tell our story, but His.  We are here to live His story, not ours.”  Tell His story?  Because I had this plan of how things could go…

For the upcoming year- for year 32- I’m praying that I’ll stop and ask again and again “how am I telling HIS story?”  Because the plan isn’t about me, what I want, and what would be easiest/most comfortable.

” We are God’s plan to make it believable that He is good and loving and true”.  

More to come-

1 thought on “our story

  1. Love the new header!! (although I will miss the bare feet photo from time to time.:)) Glad you are back on the blog. I missed your posts the last few weeks. Love you. Keep ’em coming!

Leave a comment