False Alarm

I took a nap today. A nap for eight minutes. It was a nap. After lunch I had Jameson cuddled beside me and we talked about the happenings of our morning.  This was the perfect day for a nap. Lucia was asleep, Jameson was generous enough to share the corner of his rodeo blanket with me, and I had brought along my pillow. This was divine… I was napping! And then I heard Lucia’s shriek . I napped for eight minutes today.

Doesn’t she look upset?

I’ve been tired this week. The kind of tired that you find yourself day dreaming about your bed or second guessing whether or not you added laundry detergent to the wash. It’s time to re-prioritize. I just started reading Bittersweet (my early anniversary gift from Ryan). I love this author. She writes about life in such an authentic way. The thing I love most about her two books it that each chapter is a writing on an unrelated topic to the others, which makes it an easy book to pick up and engage yourself in even if you only have 10 minutes. And because you don’t have to read the book in any particular order.. I started reading Things I Don’t Do the other night.

The first paragraph read: “I love the illusion of being able to do it all, and i’m fascinated with people who seem to do that, who have challenging careers and beautiful homes and vibrant minds and well-tended abs”. It’s as if she is talking about an exact sentiment I would’ve shared with a close friend this week! Shauna goes on to write about how it’s really not that hard to decide what you want your life to be about, the harder thing is figuring out what you’re willing to give up in order to do the things you really care about.  Good point.

I’m a list maker. Remember this post ? I want to get things done. Lately it’s becoming very apparent to me that I’m not able to do what I once did. For as much as I try to be the person with well-tended to abs, I’m not. And so…  my goal for this week is to physically write down a few things that I won’t do. Things that just won’t happen because they aren’t what I want my life to be about. Right now, I’m looking at a blank piece of paper.. but I’ll get there. I’m re-prioritizing.

5 thoughts on “False Alarm

  1. Hi Liz! Just wanted to let you know that I have been really enjoying your blog posts…especially since we are expecting our first baby any day now 🙂 It is nice to read thoughts from someone who has already experienced “mommy-hood”. So thank you for the great reads and hope all is well with you guys!

  2. Stacy,
    It’s nice to know you’re reading! We are so excited that you & Ryan are about to embark on the journey of parenting! Can you send me a FB message with your new address? I’d love to send a baby gift your way. Excited to hear your news!!

  3. Sounds like a good book and one that will be good for you at this stage of your life. I think it is a myth to think that you can have it all and do it all. you always hear about “quality” times with children, but it can hard to schedule in time with your children; esp. when they are little. They need you so much. Once you become a parent, the word “sacrifice” takes on a new meaning. Jim and I have talked about how if I had worked all those years instead of staying home with the boys and homeschooling them, we could be set financially. We would probably have our house paid for, but would we have the wonderful, amazing sons we have? It’s true, you have to decide what you are willing to give up, to have what you really want. Just know that Jim and I are always praying for you and Ryan, that you will have wisdom to make the right choices.

Leave a Reply

