4 months

Nine months ago I went in for my twenty week ultrasound sound with baby #2.

I remember the day like it was yesterday.  Jameson had a horrible cold virus and so Ryan was home with him instead of beside me on my way to check out our little babe. Ryan and I had agreed (beforehand) that we wanted to find out the sex if possible, but since he wasn’t able to be there… I asked the technician to write the sex on a piece of paper.  For extra safety, she placed the paper in a sealed envelope <tricky>. An hour later I was driving home wondering & imagining. The drive home never felt so long.

I walked in and was greeted by Ryan and a toddling Jameson behind him.  I handed the envelope to Ryan and a minute later he unfolded the piece of paper and said, “GIRL!”  It was a girl?  We’re having a girl!!! I couldn’t believe it.  I was sure it would be a boy. We’d name him Wesley and he and Jameson would be best of friends. Our house would be filled with baseball caps, smelly socks, and wrestling.  I was sure it would be a boy.

But, we were having a girl!  This meant something entirely different.  Our house would have baby dolls, tea parties, and many sweet smelling things.  I began to wonder and imagine what I would be like as a mom to a little girl.  Would I dress her up in pink and bows?  Would I paint her nails and curl her hair?  Was I girly enough to have a little girl?

Oh yes – I have done and will do the girly things – Lucia likes it that way.  Tomorrow my baby girl is four months old.  She is sweet, happy, curious, sensitive, and a daily reminder that God’s plans are perfect.

I love you, Lucia Mae!

2 thoughts on “4 months

Leave a Reply

