Seven Years

Seven years ago Ryan and I were married.  It was a beautiful August day.  The kind of day that makes everything feel just a little bit better.  I woke early and headed to the church with my ladies.  There were buckets of long stemmed ivory & pink roses. We wrapped bouquets together and paged through a “how to” book as we made head wreaths for my youngest sisters to wear. Afterwards we strolled into the nearest Starbucks for iced caramel macchiatos before our hair appointments. Later we had make-up bags strewn about a basement classroom of the church.  Seventy of our family and closest friends filled the enormous sanctuary as my brother Joe played music on the grand piano.  I remember walking up the stairs with my best friend and feeling breathless in excitement. I’ll never forget Ryan’s face beaming as my dad walked me down the aisle.  Our ceremony was sacred and our vows were “us”.  We ate an Italian catered meal in the church reception hall and had a bite each of divine cake.  People raved about the cake.  There were sparklers as we exited in our getaway 50’s convertible.

I’ll never forget the bracelet I wore, the way my niece looked in the old fashioned buggy, the sound of the bells ringing before I walked down the aisle, my veil blowing in the wind, the color of bridesmaid dresses, or the family prayer we had during our ceremony with our combined parents & grandparents.

Seven Years ago life began as Mrs. Ryan Underwood.

I love this life!

3 thoughts on “Seven Years

  1. Gosh, it’s hard to believe that has been seven years! What a precious wedding it was and I still think it is one of the sweetest weddings I ‘ve attended. Guess I might be just a bit prejudiced:) Hope you guys have a wonderful anniversary!

  2. Happy Anniversary! You both are such a wonderful example to everyone you meet of what a loving and faithful marriage is. Bless you both!

  3. Happy Anniversary, Liz! I too remember your beautiful wedding day: how you looked so gorgeous and happy, how amazing the meal tasted, how I spontaneously became your cake-cutter and your mom pinned a corsage on me 🙂 Hope you have 50 more years together!!

Leave a Reply

