gettin things done

I’ve been thinking about chore charts for the kids.  Last week while I was doing our Target run, I found a pad of these charts in the dollar bin.  What better way to sample the process then to start small.  Like on a $1 budget.

photo (18)

Laundry: is putting away their clean clothes (no worries- they don’t operate appliances).

I have pretty strong opinions on kids and chores because I think there is a fine line between teaching kids about responsibility/contributing and allowing kids to just be kids. But, it’s time (esp for Jameson) and we’re starting small.  The only reason I included Lucia is that she would have it no other way.

Day one was a huge success.  The kids were seriously running in excitement to get their work done all for the reward of… a sticker.  I have a feeling that excitement might wear off. The pad also came with award certificates, so I’m planning to give those if they’ve completed the week well.  When they hand in their certificates, I’m thinking Ryan and I will decide on special ways to award them.  This brings up the question of allowances.  Is it a good idea?  We don’t want to teach our kids to help only when there’s something in it for them.  But, I do want them to know a job well done and working together is something we’re proud of.

What do/did you do to teach your preschoolers about contributing with work?  Was there a reward for getting things done?

I’d love to hear.  Charting new territory everyday here at the Underwoods..

5 thoughts on “gettin things done

  1. You’re ahead of me, Liz! In the back of my mind, though, is a comment I heard from John Maxwell. His parents stated that chores were part of the family team effort, but the kids could earn money by reading (and discussing with Dad) books from Dad’s reading list, and so as a young teen John and his sibs were reading thoughtful nonfiction, to which John attributed much of his and his sibs early success. I don’t know what we’ll do as a family, but his story stuck with me and will influence what we do, I’m sure.

  2. My parents used to give us $1 a week until we were 10 years old. I think with kids, it doesn’t have to be a lot. Heck, we used to dig through my parents change jar every Sunday and try to find 100 pennies because that way it seemed like more 🙂 Also, it teaches kids how to save their money!

  3. I found later on in life that I was more motivated to work hard because I did not get an allowance. I also never expected rewards for doing a good job. Yet, I still had motivation to do it. Doing chores were part of being in the family and what needed to get done on time or we could not participate in the fun things (we were not overworked- that is important). I agree with you that kids need to be kids so there is a line between laziness and too much work:) Verbal affirmation is important too! We would get $1-5 for bigger chores that were not expected, like cleaning out messy cabinets, etc. Some of us took them and some did not, but those who chose to got rewarded…

  4. We were never paid as kids to do chores, and I have never paid mine either (although they are still young, and down the road I might). But my parents started an envelope system with each of us when we turned $10 until we were old enough to get our own jobs. So I guess in a way we were paid for doing work, but it was indirect. One thing I like is rewarding the kids by letting them pick a fun activity to do with mom or dad or as a family on the weekends. They seem to crave one-on-one attention from a parent right now. Probably the result of being close in age, which I know you guys relate too! You could also maybe let them “stockpile” their good chore weeks for a bigger reward.

Leave a Reply

