on life

I want to be softened, not stiff.  Pliable, not rigid.  I don’t want anyone to look at my life and think it is perfect-or worse- that I want them to think it is perfect.  Instead, I want anything that is unapproachable or harsh in me to be scrubbed away by the salt and the sand, revealing the imperfections, the brokenness, the cracks.  Not because I am proud of those parts, but because I know it is real.  I am shabby because I live life, because I am loved, and because it is all work-living and loving and being loved- being transformed, being worn and faded. 

– Jerusalem Greer (A Handmade Year)

CIa

One thought on “on life

Leave a Reply

