we learn

I know God will not give me anything I can’t handle.  I just wish that He didn’t trust me so much.  – Mother Teresa

I saw this quote recently and have thought about it several times since.  I disagree.  Do you?  It reminds me of another quote I’ve heard much more:

God won’t give you more than you can handle.

Yes.. He can!  He does.

We found out a couple months ago that my Papa (grandpa) has lung cancer.  I haven’t lost anyone in my family yet.  Hearing the word “cancer” from my Papa’s mouth that first time was surreal. The cancer has progressed.  “We never have control over life” my Papa says in his ever strong (matter of fact voice) as I sit and visit with him. That reality has never felt so real.

Out of the blue last week a friend from high school sent me a message just to let me know she was thinking of me.  Super sweet.  She had no idea the things on my heart. She included in her message Colossians 1:9-12.  This is the segment I took from it and taped to my kitchen window (since I’m stationed there. a lot)

We pray that you’ll have the strength to stick it out- not the grim strength of gritting your teeth- but the glory strength God gives.  It is the strength that endures the unendurable and spills over into joy, thanking the Father.  The Father who makes us strong enough to take part in everything bright & beautiful that He has for us.

2 Corinthians 12:10 says that when we are weak HE is strong.  Our weakness reveals His strength better.  I’m weak in this place.  Struggling with the work before me: marriage (it’s something we have to fight for), the melt downs of Lucia, talking back from Jameson, and trying to help poor (yelling) Colette communicate.  Sharing & talking through life with my sister Debbi and learning a lot about myself and my strengths & weaknesses in each  of these things.  In the midst of life- my heart is hurting.  I know things could be far worse.  I am so grateful for the gift of knowing each of my grandparents.  What if I had never known Papa’s incredible sense of humor?

I’m seeking joy.  Taking part in the beautiful things God has done and will continue to do.

Even when I’m broken.  And especially when I know I’m not enough.

IMG_9166

One thought on “we learn

  1. The message from Colossians was worded beautifully! Aren’t you glad that we have the strength from God to get us through the hardest of times. What do people without a relationship with Christ do in the difficult times? You have been blessed to have your grandparents with you as long as you have. Ryan did not have the joy of knowing his grandfathers very well as he lost both of them when he was very young.

Leave a Reply

