living space

Spring is coming.  I can feel it in the sun.  I can see it as the days grow longer.. just dusk as I’m putting the girls to bed at night.  I also feel that spring longing to clean the floors, wash the windows, throw out some new pillows, and plan for the summer ahead.  It will come. It’s inevitable.. inevitable in the way that you feel when you are 41 weeks pregnant and everyday you say “it must come”.  There is no other way around it.  Spring will come.

It’s been a full year in this home.  Moving from renters to owners here.  The other day we were in our old neighborhood so I drove past the house (we called home for six years). Lucia didn’t even know which house it was!  The journey that was so long (in my mind) isn’t even remembered by our almost four-year-old.  She thinks she has always had a pink bedroom.  Our new neighbor across the street listed her house for sale this past month. Watching as the sign went up and realtors took families through was a good reminder to me- God always has a bigger idea.  I read something this morning about our plans, that summed it up for me:

The problem with our plans is that they usually work.  And if they don’t seem to be working, we want to force them to work to get the small results we aimed for.    – Donald Miller

But Maybe God has this much bigger idea and in order to see it.. we have to dream.  To get a bigger idea of what could happen.  Many times I tried to force my plan when it came to where we lived.. I wanted to make things happen.  But now I can see parts of this big idea God was pulling together.  And I think- I aimed pretty low.

Loving home and continuing on our house tour….

This first shot is of our living room on our move in day.  I snapped it quickly (at a bad angle) to send to one of my sisters.  The second is today.  I’ve been sprucing things up for spring!

IMG_0321

IMG_9985Do you allow yourself to dream big dreams?  

Leave a Reply

