beauty in imperfection

My twelve-year-old niece Grace recently interviewed me for a school paper she was writing about professions.  As a stay at home mom I found it humorous. I definitely work, but in terms of hours and compensation and advancement.. I must be nuts to call this a profession.  I work thirteen hours a day and over-time.  I don’t get paid a dollar.  I’m not sure what an advancement would look like in this field.  Maybe becoming a grandma?

My favorite interview question: “does your job relate to any hobbies you have?

I thought long and hard on this one and felt like a pretty boring thirty-two year old sitting in my yoga pants drinking calming tea.  Hobbies?  How would you define a hobby? Lets be honest- being a mom takes away things you previously called hobbies and isn’t conducive to starting new ones!  But then I thought of what I do (in the midst of being a mom) when I get to not only clean the house- but I get to make a home.

I’m reading The Nesting Place right now which brings a very refreshing outlook on decorating and home:  it doesn’t have to be perfect to be beautiful.  Good.. because my life is so far from perfection!  But I can contribute to our family not only in being here with our kids, but by seeing this job not as a checklist but rather a canvas.  In the way I’m a mom and in the way I create a home.  For my latest project at the Underwood home, I’ve been setting up an actual playroom for kids and friends over the past months.  It started like this:

IMG_0213One of the things Myquillyn suggests in her book is taking everything out of a room “quieting it” before we can see what needs to happen/what needs to go in creating a beautiful space.  In this case quieting the playroom started with painting a very dis-colored ceiling, removing stained white carpet, and lightening the wall color significantly as the room isn’t large (just perfect for little people).  After evaluating things- I pitched an old TV, rearranged toys into different spaces, added an IKEA shelf for toys, and even brought the laundry basket back downstairs!

Now we have a very happy place for play that will rarely look this clean.  Guaranteed.  It’s not perfect, but beauty is found here.  Still debating if I should put a window treatment up or just let that sunshine in!!  Any votes?

IMG_1808

IMG_1791

IMG_1807

You don’t have to get perfect to have a pretty house.  Most of us simply need to learn to see the beauty in the imperfect.  Because life is gloriously messy.             – Myquillyn Smith

Leave a Reply

