switching things up

Given the lack of response on my last blog post- I take it you guys don’t do spring cleaning.  Strange.  Well- it’s a thing.

I’ve tried something a little different this year with spring cleaning and have been cleaning one room at a time. Like a serious deep clean.  I’m dumping out closets and washing curtains.  How far am I?  Two rooms down.  Which means spring cleaning will be done somewhere in the fall months.  We’ll just call it the epic clean of 2015.

I like order.  I like clean.  I like minimal.  That’s how I’d describe how I want my home to feel.  But then I have three cuties (four) and a puppy and I know REAL life means there will be little order and clean is oh so so temporary!  I don’t maintain things daily/weekly.  Piles form, potty training happens, the calendar goes crazy, and things get rotated from one space to a messier space. All this to say- extra focus on ONE space is refreshing.

This is also my first spring cleaning since reading this book mentioned here, but I find myself thinking Myquillyn (the authors) tips about how to “shop your house” and make it work for you. I’ve moved shelving, donated, and then in the middle of cleaning room #1 it dawned on me that it really would make more sense if Ry and I switched bedrooms with our girls. Their room looks more like the master bedroom as the main wall is actually big enough to have an end table on both sides of the bed.  Imagine!  In our current room setup my side of the bed is in the corner which means I get a crack to get out of in the mornings.  It’s dangerous.  Especially since I don’t have my glasses on (because I can’t store them on an end table beside me), there is absolutely NO coffee in my system, and my sleep medication is still wearing off.

Myquillyn would do it!  She’d tell me to switch the bedrooms!

I thought the idea was inspired and couldn’t wait to tell Ry!  Ry didn’t call it inspired.  He called it WORK.  Twelve years later and we still haven’t changed each another.. and I should have known Ry’s first reaction wouldn’t be to praise my inspiration/creativity.

I often approach change with “why wouldn’t we?” my husband with “why would we?” During one of our discussions on the bedroom swap idea I said something to the extent of people switching bedrooms and repainting bedrooms ALL THE TIME.  To which I felt the need to add: “how many times did you switch bedrooms at your house in Hendersonville growing up?” (I just knew that would add another point on my side).  His response: “NEVER”.  And I just stared at him.  Never?

We’re okay.  I like to think deep down Ry married me (partially) because I ask why wouldn’t we?  He calls me nuts, he usually gets on board with my ideas, and in the end we have another story to tell.  Like the time we switched bedrooms…

Leave a Reply

