tidbits

It’s been a blur of spring.  We’ve celebrated FOUR birthdays since I last wrote here.  We now have a 7, 5, and 3 year old (and..my husband is another year older).  The kids are getting so big which makes sense.. I’ve been feeling older.

In May we took a “real” family vacation to Florida with the Underwoods (all nine of us!)  It was beautiful, warm, and so relaxing.  We were sad to leave knowing it will be a good while till we’re together again. Family is a gift to have around and helping.  Period.

Last week I took the girls and watched as Jameson “graduated” from kindergarten.  So amazing to watch this guy grow over the past year.  The charter school has been a great fit for him.  He soared academically, met new friends, found a passion for playing soccer during recess, and loved his teacher.  At the close of the school year he came up with what he wanted to get her as a gift and on his own wrote her a thank you card that closed with “you’re the best teacher a kid could ever have“.  And then I cried. 🙂

Kindergarten year was a success.. for that I am SO thankful.

My husband (Ryan) has been training for his first marathon.. which is 26.2 miles of running. I cannot even imagine doing this to my body.  Watching him train makes me more tired and more motivated at the same time.  It’s a weird combination.  I 100% support this guy! When he puts his mind to something.. he does it.  And he does it well.  I think it’s the combination of being stubborn and gifted.  I have loved watching the things he has accomplished.  Excited to cheer him on in new adventures for his 32nd year!

The spring has come fast and furious which leaves me in this perfectly happy state at home.  I’m excited to mow the grass and plant more flowers.  I’m excited to walk and run and stay outside as much as possible.  Because I know what happens next- I’ll be sending TWO kids off on the school bus! And then I’ll cry.  And smile.

I also DON’T know what happens next.  As of June 1st we’re active and waiting for a placement with foster care.  AH!  I’ve shared a bit here about our journey thinking about foster care.  It’s been a six month process since we made that first call to the county.  In all honesty, I’ve felt quite uncomfortable the whole six months.  But when I stop thinking about me and the reservations and questions I have..  and I’m able to think of kids with broken stories.  Then I’m okay.  I’m okay with reservations and not having answers.  I’m okay with being uncomfortable.  Because I was being pretty pitiful thinking only of myself in the first place.

So the months ahead here on the blog may be quiet like the months before.. but visit once in awhile.  This space will still be updated-  at least with pictures!

Happy summer to you friends!

One thought on “tidbits

  1. Nice to hear what you guys are up to. Wishing you all the best with placement of a child through the system. How wonderful for the lucky kid who is placed in your home. Enjoy your summer!

Leave a Reply

